top of page

The path of
the trail

Route map - orange.png
Awatere Timber edit 2 concept bridge.jpg
The Whale Trail New Zealand_Logomark_Pos

The proposed Whale Trail will start in Picton and end in Kaikōura via Blenheim, Seddon, Ward, Kekerengu and Clarence.

Along the way, the trail would traverse a range of landscapes to reach previously inaccessible areas of outstanding natural beauty, in a sensitive and sustainable manner.

Cyclists and walkers will be rewarded with epic views of the dramatic Kaikōura Ranges, the rugged Pacific Ocean coastline and spectacular panoramas over vineyards, wetlands, tussock land and riverscapes.

Picton to Seddon Trail Map

Marlborough District Council Walking and Cycling Smartmap shows the proposed trail from Picton to Seddon (in black dash). Click below and Zoom into the map for the route detail details.

Marlborough District Council Walking and Cycling Map 

The three completed sections of trail are labeled can be seen by zooming into:

  • Wairau River Bridge SH1

  • Riverland to Redwood Pass Road (east of Blenheim)

  • between Seddon and Awatere River (note this section is closed due to flooding undercutting by the Awatere River)

The creation of a new trail

The Marlborough Kaikōura Trail Trust has worked hard to create a trail that accesses areas previously unseen to visitors, and to create the best cycling and walking experience possible.

At this time, the Trust is in the process of investigating the precise cycle trail route, all necessary infrastructure and final costs. A core element of this stage is open engagement and dialogue with iwi and communities.


The Whale Trail received $18m of funding for construction as announced by Parliamentary Under-Secretary for Regional Economic Development Fletcher Tabuteau in Blenheim on Friday 24 July 2020.

In June 2019, the Trust received funding from the Government’s Provincial Growth Fund to complete a technical study on the route of the trail.

The Trust has also received generous support from the Marlborough and Kaikōura District Councils, the Rātā Foundation and the Lotteries Earthquake Fund.

bottom of page